Navratri 2015 (9 days of navratri)

Navratri is a nine days festival dedicated to Goddess Durga. Navratri is a Sanskrit word which literally means nine nights. During these nine nights and ten days, Goddess Durga is worshipped in 9 different forms, known as Navdurga. The tenth day is celebrated as Vijayadashami when idols of Goddess Durga are immersed into the water body. Let See about  Navratri 2015 (9 days of navratri)

Shailaputri Maha Puja
1st & 2nd Day of Navratri : 13th & 14th October, 2015 (Tuesday & Wednesday)
Tithi – Pratipada
Goddess Worshipped – Shailaputri (Daughter of Mountain)
Offerings to the Goddess – Ghee
Color to be Worn on the Day – Red & Royal Blue
The first form of mother Durga among the nine is Shailputri. She is known as such, because she has incarnated from Himalaya the Emperor of mountains. Shailputri in her previous birth was born as a daughter to Daksha Prajapati. She was named ‘Sati’. Sati in her next birth was born as a daughter to Himalaya and was named as Parvati.

Brahmacharini Maha Puja
3rd Day of Navratri : 15th October, 2015 (Thursday)
Tithi – Dwitiya
Goddess Worshipped – Brahmacharini
Offerings to the Goddess – Sugar
Color to be Worn on the Day – Yellow
The Second day of Navaratri is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharni, the Goddess of Swathisthana chakra.She is also known as Devi Yogni and Devi Tapsvini and is worshipped on the second day of Navrathri. Brahma means penance. So, Brahmacharni is one who practices penance. Goddess Parvati was a great Sati and tapsavi. In order to marry Lord Shiva she did severe penance and performed hard austerity. This unmarried meditating form of Maa Parvati is worshipped as Goddess Brahmacharni.

Chandraghanta Maha Puja
4th Day of Navratri : 16th October, 2015 (Friday)
Tithi – Tritiya
Goddess Worshipped – Chandraghanta
Offerings to the Goddess – Milk
Color to be Worn on the Day – Green
The third aspect of Goddess Durga is Chandraghanta. On the third day of Navaratra worship her Vigraha (image) is worshipped. She wears the semi-circular moon (Chandra) on her forehead. The half-moon on her forehead looks like the bell (Ghanta) and because of that she is known as Chandra-Ghanta.

Kushmanda Maha Puja
5th Day of Navratri : 17th October, 2015 (Saturday)
Tithi – Chaturthi
Goddess Worshipped – Kushmanda
Offerings to the Goddess – Malpua
Color to be Worn on the Day – Grey
Kushmanda, the fourth manifestation of Goddess Durga, is worshipped on the Navratri Chaturthi. She is considered to be the creator of the universe. (Ku+Usma+Anda)- that is how the word has been derived. ‘Ku’ means `a little’; `Usma’ is warmth, heat or energy and `Anda’ means the cosmic egg or universe. That is from whose fraction of warmth the universe has emanated. She resides on Saurmandal (solar system). Like Sun illuminates and removes darkness from Earth, her boundless blaze gives light in life of human being.

Skandamata Maha Puja
6th Day of Navratri : 18th October, 2015 (Sunday)
Tithi – Panchami
Goddess Worshipped – Skandamata
Offerings to the Goddess – Bananas
Color to be Worn on the Day – Orange
The fifth aspect of Mother Durga is known as Skandamata. She is the mother of Kumara or Skanda or Kartikeya, who was chosen by gods as their commander in the war against the demons. Worshippers offer great reverence to mother Skanda on Panchami of Durga Pooja. When all Devta (deities), Rishi-Muni (saint, holymen) and Manushya (mankind) was tired from torment as well as domination of colossal giant Tarakasur, Kumar kartikey is the only almighty who demolished the tyranny of Devil Tarakasur. Being the mother of powerful deity Kumar Kartikey, mother Parvati is glorified with name ‘Skanda Mata’.

Katyayini Maha Puja
7th Day of Navratri : 19th October, 2015 (Monday)
Tithi – Shashthi Kaalratri Mata
Goddess Worshipped – Katyayani
Offerings to the Goddess – Honey
Color to be Worn on the Day – White
Maa Katyayini or Devi Katyayani, the 6th form of Nav Durga is worshipped on sixth day of Navaratri (Durga Puja). She is represented with four-arms. Her upper left hand holds sword and lower left hand represents lotus-flower. Her upper right hand is in Abhaymudra, and lower right hand is in Barmudra. Lion is her procession. Her appearance is imagined with pink Saree wearing white rosary on her neck.

Kaalratri Maha Puja
8th Day of Navratri : 20th October, 2015 (Tuesday)
Tithi – Saptami
Goddess Worshipped – Kaalratri
Offerings to the Goddess – Jaggery Dishes
Color to be Worn on the Day – Pink
Kaalratri form of mother Durga is her seventh form in the sequence of Navratri worship. Kaalratri is extremely frightening to look at but she is always auspicious in effect. She is believed to be the most violent Devi among Navadurga. She has dark Krishna (black) complexion and her appearance is extremely fearful. Her large red eyes, open red tongue and sobre on hand violently demolish devils and monsters. She is also glorified with name ‘Kali Maa’. Devi Kaalratri has three round eyes, and scattered long black hair. She wears a bead that gleams like fire of electric power. Durga manifested herself as completely destroy the dirt and demons (Shumbha and Nishumbha) from existence.

Mahagauri Maha Puja
9th Day of Navratri : 21st October, 2015 (Wednesday)
Tithi – Ashtami Siddhidaatri Mata
Goddess Worshipped – Mahagauri
Offerings to the Goddess – Coconut
Color to be Worn on the Day – Sky Blue
Goddess Maha Gauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri. Maha Gauri means one clean and bright ray of lightning that lightens the universe. She has the power to fulfill all the desires. Her beauty glows like gleam of white Pearl. She denotes peace and endurance. She is represented with four arms seated on a Vrishabha (bull). Her upper left hand holds Trishul (trident), lower right hand carries Damru (hand drum) and other two hands are in different Mudras (positions). It is believed that this manifestation is of Parvati when she did hard penance to obtain her Shiva due to which her body color turned dark.

Siddhidatri Maha Puja
10th Day of Navratri : 22nd October, 2015 (Thursday)
Tithi – Navami
Goddess Worshipped – Siddhidaatri
Offerings to the Goddess – Grains
Color to be Worn on the Day – Sky Blue Color to be Worn on the Day – Purple
Siddhidaatri form of Durga is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri or Navdurga puja i.e. ashwini shukla Navami and Chaita shukla paksha Navami. She is the holder of eight siddhis and blesses the devotees with 26 different wishes. This Goddess is revered to offer all types of Siddhi (perfection) to her devotees and thus glorified with name ‘Siddhidaatri’. As per Markendey Puran, there are mainly eight types of Siddhi names as – Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakyamya, Inshitva, and Vashitva.

(Visited 74 times, 1 visits today)

Share This Post

Post Comment